20 years ago, I worked as a sales manager in a small office, overseeing a small staff. At one point, the company had two openings for salespersons. A married couple inquired in response to the help wanted ad in hopes of being hired as a team. It was an unusual situation but not forbidden by our hiring practices. I agreed to interview them jointly.

Near the end of our meeting in my office, it was just we three. I was explaining a few of the policies and procedures when the husband took exception to one of the company guidelines. It wasn’t a major issue; more of a technicality about who could work together when and where. Hubby was explaining his reservations when his wife interrupted, saying in a calm but firm voice, “Stop arguing over this little point. I’d hate to have to turn you over my knee and spank you in front of our new manager.” She said it so casually that I was extremely impressed with her quiet authoritative tone. There was no doubt that she meant what she said.

The young gentleman was bright red in the face and obviously humiliated by the threat and the implication that his wife spanks him whenever she sees fit. I did my best to wrap up the interview in a businesslike manner although I hesitated to stand up at the conclusion because my arousal was straining at my zipper! Unfortunately, they were not hired by us and instead got jobs nearby. It was the one and only time we met and I will never forget them nor the incident. I wish we could have been on the same team. We would have been more than just co-workers on the sales force, I imagine. Private conversations around the office would have been amazing! For one thing, I could have dispelled the husband’s shame by discreetly telling him that it’s all good since my own wife takes my pants down and turns me over her knee when I get too far out of line.