Spanking Needs Forums

Telling your therapist you are a spanko

Therapy by a licensed counselor is often sought after for a wide variety of emotional issues.  How many of you would feel comfortable confiding in your therapist that you are an avowed spanko if it was central to the concerns being addressed?  

• Like 1

I've heard some good and bad experiences of this. 

The fear is that your therapist would see being a spanko as a mental issue and fixate on that instead of solving the issues at hand. 

That said, I imagine for a lot of them, it'll be unlikely to surprise them. There is also a directory for kink aware professionals which will allow you to find one that's kink accepting before going to see them. 

• Like 1

I am a therapist in the DMV and am "kink friendly." That said,  if I were back in therapy myself (yes, even therapists need help sometimes) I would be very careful to find a therapist who would not judge this as automatically a problem. Interview your therapist.  Ask questions about their values and opinions.  You're a consumer of their services. You're going to be paying them good money (maybe a lot of it). You have a right to "test drive the car" and make sure it works for you.

• Like 3

If I were planning to see a therapist, I would want to know if s/he considered my kinks in a negative light. I have no time for people who attach shame to my kink. 

• Like 2

I did mention it, after seeing the clinician for nearly 6 months. 

Her reaction seemed more about intrigue rather than assistance. 

I left shortly thereafter.  It hadn't been a good fit, but I didn't want to judge too quickly.

As long as you feel comfortable talking with your therapist about it, I don’t see a problem with it, and neither should they. Therapists are trained to be compassionate and open without judgement of any kind. 

• Like 1